MILFORD HAVEN TOWN COUNCIL

Minutes of the

Special Meeting of the Public Events Sub-Committee (to consider nominations for the Citizens' Awards 2023) held at the Pill Social Centre, Milford Haven and via the Zoom software on Monday 15th May 2023 at 5:45pm

PRESENT

The Mayor and Chair (Councillor Miss K. F. Gray)
The Deputy Mayor/Mayor Elect (Councillor Mrs C. Stevens)
The Deputy Mayor Elect (Councillor W. D. Elliott BA QTS)

Councillors: D. Abbott Miss V. Brown

E. A. Davies DipSM FJOIFF B. Phillips

C. A. Sharp Mrs Y. G. Southwell

G. Woodham MBA (Open) LL.B (Hons)

Councillor M. Jones attended the Meeting via the Zoom software.

Mrs B. J. Fitzgerald, Town Clerk Miss F. K. Galliford, Town Council Secretary

357. APOLOGIES:

Apologies for absence were received from Councillors K. Abbott (work commitments), Mrs N. Beavis-Morrissey (family illness), T. J. Davies, D. R. Sinnett (holiday) and R. Williams (work commitments).

358. DECLARATIONS OF INTEREST:

Councillor C. A. Sharp declared a personal interest in Nomination A1 through his association with the individual's organisation.

Councillor W. D. Elliott BA QTS declared a personal interest in Nomination A1 through his association with the individual's organisation.

Councillor W. D. Elliott BA QTS declared a personal interest in Nomination A4 through his association with the individual's organisation.

Councillor W. D. Elliott BA QTS declared a personal interest in Nomination G3 through his association with this organisation.

Councillor E. A. Davies DipSM FJOIFF declared a personal interest in Nomination G4 as he is a member of this organisation.

Councillor G. Woodham MBA (Open) LL.B (Hons) declared a personal interest in Nomination G2 as he is the President of this organisation.

MILFORD HAVEN TOWN COUNCIL

Councillor Miss V. Brown declared a personal interest in Nomination A4 through her association with the individual's organisation.

Councillor Miss V. Brown declared a personal interest in Nomination G3 through her association with this organisation.

359. TO CONSIDER NOMINATIONS FOR CITIZENS' AWARDS 2023

A discussion took place that the Citizens' Awards are given to those individuals who have achieved exceptional work within Milford Haven.

Weight should not be given to choose an individual or organisation that has received the most nominations over receiving one nomination for a person or organisation. The Awards should be given to those who are very deserving rather than giving multiple Awards. Evidence should also be given on the nomination forms on how this person/organisation has achieved exceptional work.

It was agreed that if an Award has been granted once it should not be awarded again unless under exceptional circumstances. As a result, Nomination A9 was removed.

The Councillors carefully considered all the nominations before a secret ballot took place. Councillor Jones voted via the Zoom software.

There were no posthumous award nominations.

The Citizens' Awards for 2023 will be given to:

- 1. Mr. Dayle Gibby (for his work with Milford Youth Matters)
- 2. Milford Haven Town Band
- 3. St. Katharine's Stratford Players

The nomination form will be referred to a future Meeting of the Public Events Sub-Committee for discussion. The Town Council Secretary, Miss F. K. Galliford, is to attend this meeting.

RESOLVED THAT:

- (i) Citizens' Awards for 2023 will be given to Mr. D. Gibby, Milford Haven Town Band, and St. Katharine's Stratford Players;
- (ii) the nomination form be referred to a future Meeting of the Public Events Sub-Committee for discussion;
- (iii) the Town Council Secretary, Miss F. K. Galliford, is to be present at this Meeting.
